Pressed powders also known as compact powders are used to set the foundation or can even be used on their own over moisturizers or bb creams to control oiliness and to make the makeup last longer. If not used in moderation, they can often give a cakey look to the skin. I have normal to dry skin so I usually prefer powders which are either translucent or which give a sheer coverage without caking up my skin.

On my last visit to the MAC counter, I picked up this pressed powder on the recommendation of the MUA who assured me that it is a long wearing face powder promising zero shine for 12 hrs.

IMG_4097 - Copy

WHAT THE COMPANY CLAIMS:

For a wet-proof velvety matte finish, try MAC Pro Longwear Pressed Powder, which promises zero shine with sheer to medium coverage for up to 12 hours in any climate. Now available in a range of shades from light to dark to suit all skin tones.

PRICE: 2100 INR 

MY EXPERIENCE WITH THE PRODUCT:

It comes in a regular classic black packaging  which has a mirror attached to it along with a leatherette puff. You can either use the leatherette puff or powder brush to apply it. The packaging is travel friendly so you can easily carry it for touch ups.

IMG_4107
MAC pro longwear powder/pressed
IMG_4112
MAC pro longwear powder/pressed Shade- Medium Dark

It is a non comodogenic oil free as well as non drying wet proof powder which makes it suitable for all skin types. It is finely milled and gives a lovely velvet matte finish to the skin with sheer coverage which can be built up to achieve medium coverage. MAC is known for having a variety of shades in base products which is the same for these powder as well. I’m NC 40-42 in the foundation range by MAC and was matched with the shade Medium Dark. What I like about this powder is that it controls oiliness on your face without giving a flat matte look to your skin. So if you’re thinking of achieving a glowy look without looking oily, then this is the perfect product to go with. The staying power is fairly good. It lasted on my skin for 7-8 hours after which there was a little oiliness on my T-zone which made me look glowy instead of looking oily. I feel oily skinned ladies will need to retouch after a certain amount of time. Since it doesn’t have spf, it photographs really well.

IMG_4115 - Copy
MAC Pro Longwear Foundation with MAC Pro Longwear Powder.

RATING: 4/5

OVERALL THOUGHTS:

It gives a lovely velvet matte finish and does control oiliness. It avoided creasing in my under eye area. It is dermatologist tested which makes it great for sensitive and acne prone skin. It doesn’t give a powdery look to the skin unlike other powders. I would recommend this powder to all skin types. The only downside is it fails to last for 12 hours as the brand claims. I wish lasted on me for longer time but then you can always touchup your makeup.

Thankyou for visiting this space! Have you tried MAC Pro Longwear powder? Share your thoughts with me in the comments section and also any suggestions or if you want me to review any particular product.